FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: FOUL MOUTH EARNS RAVE REVIEWS | Bay Area Rockers Syrym Receive Eight Awards, Song Selected Track Of The Day On Garageband.com

Posted in Press Releases at 1:25 am by Jeffrey

Oakland, California—May 16, 2008—Bay Area rock band Syrym, winners of eight awards on Garageband.com, have had their song, “Foul Mouth Blues,” selected as the indie music website’s Hard Rock Track of the Day for May 17, 2008. Track of the Day winners are selected based on reviews by musicians and music fans, with the best-reviewed song on a particular day receiving the nod. The band and song are then featured on a subsequent day.

The band also received honors in the Hard Rock category for Best Male Vocals, Best Guitars, Best Drums, Best Bass, Best Production, Best Lyrics, Best Beat, and Most Rocking Track.

“Foul Mouth Blues” is a slithering, angst-ridden, defiant declaration of the end of an abusive relationship. Musically, the song is a throwback to the sound of the heavy melodic rock groups of the late 1980s and early 1990s—bands like Lynch Mob, Ratt, Mötley Crüe, and fellow Bay Area rock stalwarts Babylon A.D.

Formed at the end of 2007 by vocalist Jeffrey Winslow and Babylon A.D. founding member/guitarist Ron Freschi, Syrym combines elements of the modern hard rock sound with the melody and bombast of hard rock’s heyday.

Growing up in Hayward, California, Freschi’s jazz guitar training soon gave way to the influence of guitar heroes such as Michael Schenker, Eddie Van Halen, Randy Rhoads, Dave Meniketti, Neil Schon, Warren DiMartini, Nuno Bettencourt, and George Lynch. Freschi was recruited by the Persuaders, who went on to release local rock radio hits such as “I’m No Good For You” and “Don’t Ask Questions.” The Persuaders eventually caught the ear of Arista Records president Clive Davis, who made them one of the label’s few hard rock acts, and the band proceeded to change their name to Babylon A.D. Their self-titled debut album, released in 1989, featured several MTV and Headbanger’s Ball hits, including “Bang Go The Bells,” “Hammer Swings Down,” and “The Kid Goes Wild,” which was featured in the film Robocop 2. The band’s sophomore effort, Nothing Sacred, was released in 1992. They went on to release several more albums on Perris Records.

Winslow got his start in the Bay Area’s rock music scene, performing with bands such as Killer Instinct and Scattergun, but really came into his own as a multi-dimensional vocalist in Santa Barbara, fronting funk-rock quintet Psycho Graffiti, as well as two gospel choirs. Since returning to the Bay Area, Winslow has repeatedly been called upon to provide vocals for studio sessions, has written and performed music for television and radio commercials and, most recently, held down lead vocal duties for East Bay hard rockers Vertigo and 3rd & King.

Syrym’s debut album is scheduled for release in Summer 2008.

For more information, or to listen to songs that will be featured on the upcoming Syrym album, visit www.syrym.com.

# # #

Share Syrym News:
  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Mixx
  • Google Bookmarks
  • BlinkList
  • Live
  • NewsVine
  • Propeller
  • Reddit
  • SphereIt
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.